The Fowler electorate was named after Lilian Fowler (1887–1954), the first woman alderman in New South Wales from 1929 to 1948 and the first woman mayor in Australia from 1938 to 1939. Lilian Fowler was also a Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly from 1944 to 1950.

The Fowler electorate encompasses the south western outskirts of Sydney.

It includes the suburbs of Abbotsbury, Bonnyrigg (part), Bossley Park (part), Cabramatta, Cabramatta West, Canley Heights, Canley Vale, Carramar, Chipping Norton, Edensor Park (part), Fairfield East, Greenfield Park (part), Lansvale, Liverpool, Mount Pritchard, Prairiewood (part), Wakeley and Warwick Farm.

Area: 60 sq km.

Electors enrolled: 105 259 (as at 27/11/2018).